_78 Let Loose in The Snow in Bymarka

22/03/15

Route map here


This post is from a few weeks back, when there was still snow, but it has all but gone now (thankfully).

 

I think it was just a bit of a spur of the moment thing to go out riding, there was still a lot of snow about and it was raining so the riding conditions were a bit crap if i’m honest, however I just felt the urge to go explore some new parts of Bymarka.

I spent the whole of the ascent up the hill regretting the fact that I had gone and and my enthusiasm quickly ebbed away as I found snow covered after snow covered trail, even the paths which has seen the piste basher through for the xc skiers were impossible to ride, then the fact that my seatpost kept sliding down was driving me mad.

Anyway I managed to fix the seatpost problem temporarily by wedging a piece of the sand paper that comes in a puncture repair kit in the seat tube and I reached the cafe at the top of Grakallen, where I decided to stop for a change. I was glad I did as I had a coffee and one of the best cakes I have ever had there!

After the coffee it was downhill back to the city and I always forget just how insanely fun it is to ride downhill in the snow! I love it! You just slide all over the place, but weirdly there is a lot of grip, so you can get pretty wild, throwing all sorts of shapes on the bike but somehow it always seems to stay upright and then even when you do go down it is fine as it is nice soft snow to fall in. I think the fact that you constantly have snow spraying up into your face, much like when skiing, makes it all the more fun!

Wild times in the snow for sure! If it snows and you think you can not ride, think again, even if you have to push to the top. Go ride in the snow!

The snow near the bottom was not too bad, giving me a false hope for the ride up
The snow near the bottom was not too bad, giving me a false hope for the ride up

 

Once at the top I stopped in the cafe for a coffee
Once at the top I stopped in the cafe for a coffee
And a cake! Probably one of the best cakes I have ever had
And a cake! Probably one of the best cakes I have ever had
Ooooo I love riding in the snow!
Ooooo I love riding in the snow!
The lake is still frozen
What?! The lake is still frozen?!
Getting a little off track trying to create take a short cut
Getting a little off track trying to create take a short cut
The trails just look so idyllic around here, the way the bronze, needle covered singletrack winds its way through the trees never fails to impress me
The trails just look so idyllic around here, the way the bronze, needle covered singletrack winds its way through the trees never fails to impress me
Leave a Reply

