_72 Finally Enough Ice Has Melted to be Able to Ride

06/03/15

Route map here


I was sitting in uni on Friday afternoon and suddenly realised it was nice and dry so I decided to skive off and ran home, got my bike and headed out for a ride!

I ended up going all the way to the top of Geitfjellet and despite the icy conditions decided to go and explore some new trails I had not tried around the back of Geitfjellet using the amazing mountain bike map that you can find here

Mountain bike map of Norway

and had a ride along Gammelstein and then down a trail called Garnisontstein which turned out to be amazing (so good I didn’t stop to take any photos).

So Sunny. This is the viewpoint looking over the city which is just up above my house
So Sunny. This is the viewpoint looking over the city which is just up above my house
As I entered the trees the sun was shining through, it made it almost feel like summer
As I entered the trees the sun was shining through, it made it almost feel like summer
Still snow but it was a bit more rideable this time
Still snow but it was a bit more rideable this time
The trail might have been covered in ice but it was still surprisingly grippy. Looks like it would be a great descent when the ice has melted
The trail might have been covered in ice but it was still surprisingly grippy. Looks like it would be a great descent once the ice has melted
wpid-imag1551.jpg
Up on the top of the trail to Geitfjellet where it plateaus
The view from the top of Geitfjellet was pretty amazing, sun heading down over the horizon and clear blue skies meant the three of us at that had walked to the top could see for miles and miles
The view from the top of Geitfjellet was pretty amazing, sun heading down over the horizon and clear blue skies meant the three of us at that had walked to the top could see for miles and miles
And in the other direction, back towards Trondheim
And in the other direction, back towards Trondheim
I was having an explore on some of the track around the back of Geitfjellet and came across this little hobbit house
I was having an explore on some of the track around the back of Geitfjellet and came across this little hobbit house
And inside it was pretty cosy, built into the rocks and with a little stove too
And inside it was pretty cosy, built into the rocks and with a little stove too
As I went down the northern side of Bymarka the sun set
As I went down the northern side of Bymarka the sun set
The trail called Gammelstein along the North West side of Geitfjellet was good fun but also still really icy, when I came across a section like this, even if it was just short, I got pretty excited
The trail called Gammelstein along the North West side of Geitfjellet was good fun but also still really icy, when I came across a section like this, even if it was just short, I got pretty excited
Thank you trail fairies
Thank you trail fairies

 

Leave a Reply

